+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default switching from finas to avodart

I've been using fin for over 5 years now, although it is definitely helping with slowing my loss I want to experiment further, especially because of what I lost due to my bad minox experience over the last months (yes I'm off it now and I will never use it again). so I'm thinking avodart. I'll use it for 2-3 years to boost things up when I'm still young (now 29). the only thing at the moment I am concerned about is, will I shed a lot after switching? or will it be less noticeable since I am already blocking DHT to some point with fin. anyone switched before from fin to dutas? I would really appreciate your opinion. thanks!

I believe the biggest downfall to hair loss sufferers is "greed" in wanting to regrow all the hair they loss. Fin, Minox, etc. will regrow hair to only a very small percentage of users. Most can only hope for is to maintain what they have or to reduce the rate of their hair loss. If you expect more you will probably be disappointed. With that said, I was on Propecia for several years. My hair loss continued but at a much slower rate. Like you, I wanted to super charge things up by switching over to Avodart. I was diligent in taking it for one year. Each and every day the dreaded shed appeared. I kept thinging that it would end any week. Unfortunately, it lasted for 52 straight weeks. Finally I came to my senses and stopped taking Avodart and went back to Propecia. Shortly thereafter, the rate of my hair loss returned back to a small level. Still losing ground everyday but at a slower rate... Hair took a total beating during that Avodart year though that never returned fully.

My recommendation to you is to be content with Propecia. However, I wouldn't fault you for wanting to try Avodart. Perhaps, the result will be different for you. Medication affects everyone differently so what was bad for me may be golden for you. Best of luck!