+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Default Addressing root cause of male pattern baldness: a well known approach?

http://www.*******************/forum...d-prostate-101 (and links at the end of it)

What in the world? Addressing root cause? Normalizing hormones? If this isn't complete madness then it feels to me like we are all quite stupid!
    I can't even see any flaw in the science of it yet, and i'm a biotech student...

Edit: tch, link deleted, pasting below:

"THE DETAILED CAUSES OF MALE PATTERN BALDNESS AND PROSTATE GROWTH

Overview:

when systemic progesterone and systemic cortisol levels are too low, this causes too high DHT metabolism in hair follicles which in turn causes excess free radical damage to the hair follicles on our head in areas where the blood flow is restricted ("due to genetic predisposition"). The additional lack of blood flow to hair follicles means the free radical damage to hair follicles cannot be repaired adequately.

The same excess-free-radical-damage-due-to-excess-DHT-metabolism occurs in our prostate, inflaming our prostate causing either pain and / or constricting the urethra thus reducing urine flow.

This overview omits a lot of important details, so you MUST also read the following detailed explanation before discounting the above info.

Details:

Relatively high levels of progesterone are necessary to compete with DHT for DHT receptors. When progesterone triggers a DHT receptor, then DHT cannot trigger that receptor, and the progesterone which enters the cell triggers progesterone's actions not DHT's actions.

Relatively high levels of progesterone are necessary to upregulate the p53 tumor suppressor protein, which is postulated as one of the primary means of minimizing prostate tumors.

Relatively high levels of cortisol are necessary to oppose / downregulate DHT metabolism. Cortisol acts directly on our genes to limit the ability of T and DHT to trigger their own genetic effects.