+ Reply to Thread

Default Am I a good HT candidate?

Hi,

I recently joined the forum and the battle against hair loss.

I'm 26 years old and taking Proscar split into quarters and using the Laser Comb. I have been doing so for about two months. I plan to take Proscar and use the Laser Comb for one year to see how I respond, then I'll take it from there.

About two months ago, I went in for a consultation with a non-IAHRS recommended doctor/clinic (I wasn't aware of the IAHRS before I went in for the consultation), and they recommended a 1,700-2,000 graft HT. But, since I've learned of the IAHRS and went to a non-IAHRS recommended clinic, I'm now a bit skeptical.

How do I know if I'm a good candidate for a HT?

I am attaching photos so you can see where I'm at. I model professionally, along with some acting, so my appearance is quite important to me.

Thanks in advance!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	January 2009-20.jpg

Size:	87.1 KB
ID:	1111   Click image for larger version

Name:	January 2009-21.jpg

Size:	95.8 KB
ID:	1112  

I’m not a doctor but have been researching this topic for many years. Here’s my story:
    http://www.baldtruthtalk.com/showthread.php?t=435

Judging from your pictures it looks to me like you are a good candidate depending on your donor hair. You're hair looks very thick and you still have a good amount of it. Starting Proscar was very smart and might even grow back some of the hair in your crown while keeping what you currently have. Anyone who has done any research knows to go to an IAHRS surgeon which you have figured out.
    Where are you located? There is probably and IAHRS surgeon close to you if you are in the U.S. I would probably have a consultation with one to get an honest examination.

Thanks, Zao. I live in Virginia. I went to the IAHRS site to search for a doctor, but nothing came up for VA. I did find a couple in Charlotte, NC, though.