+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Unhappy Can drinking cause hair loss?

a friend of mine told me that alcohol usage can cause hair loss! is this true? Am I making my hair loss worse by drinking?

Any thoughts? this is very disturbing.

Doesn't alcohol increase estrogen levels? If anything wouldn't it be good for your hair? Drink Up!

Yeah that's my theory too. Drink up baby! Im no doctor but from what I understand alcohol increases estrogen and suppresses testosterone. So I certainly dont think it's going to hurt you hair-wise. And who knows maybe it can actually help.

Question It's difficult to say.

Before I comment, I would like to make it clear that I am NOT a physician and this information is my opinion based on over a decade of experience being a consumer advocate for men and women suffering with hair loss, and from a layman's understanding of the subject matter.

While moderate alcohol consumption is known to have positive, possibly even protective, cardiovascular health effects, the truth is people who drink in excess like Dave (just kidding man)on a regular basis cause their body's to undergo significant stress reactions that can lead to a host of physical and psychological issues.

As we all know heavy alcohol consumption taxes the liver, and other vital organs which can contribute to a breakdown in the body's "normal” functioning. The liver for instance helps to manage hormones in the body's metabolism. As we know, hormones are basically chemical messengers that coordinate the functions of all of our organs and tissues. Each hormone is secreted from a particular gland and distributed throughout the body to act in a very specific way.