+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default 19 and starting to lose hair

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum however, I have been lurking it for the past month. I am 19 and starting to lose my hair on only one side of my temple (this has been going on for 5 months, at least when I started to notice). At first my hair was only thinning in the far corner of my temple but it has now begun to slowly spread toward the middle of my hairline. About one week ago I also notice that my crown is starting to thin as well but is not yet as noticeable.

My father started losing his hair around 19-20 but his hair began to fall out very fast and in very large portions, whereas mine has been a slow progression and not as dramatic. I went to a dermatologist two days ago and all she did was look through my hair where it was thinning and then she did a “pull test” on both sides of my temples. She declared negative on both tests (no hair came out). She told me I most likely have MPB and that she wants me to do a blood test just to check (my father and his mother had bad thyroids and didn’t realize later in life). She said I should start using 5% Rogaine and take 2.5mg of Biotin and that I should come back in 3 months to check my progress (she didn’t even mention procepia).