+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Anybody use generic Propecia (finasteride)? Any stores that sell it?

Hello all,
    Ive been using minoxidil religiously for roughly 13 months now. While I'm extremely pleased with what it has done to improve and save the hair I have, I realize that I have gone as far as I can with minoxidil. It has improved the hair I still have, but it has not helped regrow/regenerate what I had already lost prior to beginning the minoxidil treatment.

During the last 13 months Ive tried to do all I can to bypass using finasteride (due to the price, the side effects, etc) but now I find myself becoming greedy.

The first few months of minoxidil were amazing, as I saw SUCH a noticeable improvement in my hair. But since that time (roughly 5-6 months ago) I haven't seen any more improvement, but instead a steady maintaining of my hair.

While I am grateful that my thinning has stopped, I can't help but want more. And I think im finally ready to take the plunge with finasteride. I don't care about the side effects anymore, I just want to see my hair continue to improve (like it did in the first few months of minoxidil) rather than a simple maintaining (which is what I've seen the last 6 or so months of using it).

I am interested in using generic finasteride instead of propecia due to how much more expensive the propecia brand is. I have read multiple places that the generic finasteride works EXACTLY the same as the brandname stuff (Propecia), but I wanted to get some feedback from you all if this is true.

Who here uses the generic stuff? Does it work just like the brand stuff?

Also, to those who have been using finasteride for a while, does it actually work to regrow hair that has already been lost? (as opposed to minoxidil, which only maintains what you have left?)