+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: FUE or FUT ?

Question FUE or FUT ?

I am so confused by the different hair transplant procedures. Which is the better solution that will deliver a more natural looking result?

Hey M Law, I am not a doctor by any stretch of the imagination, but I have had the FUT method with Doctor McAndrews. I believe naturalness is driven by the fact that the hairs are transplanted in their naturally occxuring groupings (called follicular units), and not by the method type (FUT or FUE). I believe the key difference between FUT and FUE is the scarring that results from the procedure. FUT leaves a thin linear scar which is covered by even a short haircut. FUE leaves less of a scar as I understand it. Definitely talk to a doctor about any other differences.

Thanks TeeJay for your reply. I suppose my next question is if the the FUT would deliver more density. I don't shave my head anyways, So I'm not really that concerned with a small visible scar. I care more about having more density on my hairline.

Thumbs up

Hey M Law,

I don't believe the FUT method (otherwise known as the "strip" method) has any significance as it relates to density, but, again, I'm not a doctor. The FUT and FUE methods simply refer to how the grafts are harvested from your donor region (back of your head).

With FUT, an entire strip of tissue is removed from the back of your scalp, which contains hundreds or thousands of follicular hair units. Your scalp is closed shut and sutured. This is what produces a thin linear scar. Then the doctor and his/her staff dissect the excised strip of tissue into individual follicular units, and transplant them one-by-one into tiny incisions into the area of your scalp to be transplanted.