+ Reply to Thread

Default Hello, hello, how can I get my hair to grow?

Hi, my name is Shelby and I'm an American currently in Germany, I had just turned 19 this last Spetember and have had some major hair thinning. I didn't begin to notice my hair was thinning until a few months after my high school graduation after I came out of the shower. The thinning is mostly concentrated on my crown, but I have a few patches on the sides that look similar.

Now, balding is common in my family, but more so on my dad's side. I haven't excercising alot because of the holidays, my diet is somewhat poor but rich in proteins and vitamins, and I do get little sleep (only 4-6 hours a night). I don't smoke myself, but have neighbors and friends who do. I also have a somewhat stressful time balancing college, work, and life. I also have problems with keeping my face clean and clear of clogged pores because of how oily it is. And just last year, before I graduated, I had my hair bleached into a skunkstripe (where the blonde hair runs along the center of the head). In middle and high school, I often styled my hair differently everyday: parted one day, then prarted on the other side, then slicked back, then parted in the center, and then done up in a pompadour. My mother tells me that my hair thinning was from overgrooming.

My father and uncles didn't start really experiencing thinning or balding hair until their mid twenties, my grandfathers, in their forties.

I've researched several techniques to restore hair, but most of them seem either expensive, counter-productive, superstitious, or riddled with side effects such as a compromised reproductive system. And before I forget, I try not to take medications as much, because I believe I should only take synhtesized medication for an operation or severe illness. I'm open to any and all suggestions, though, I will give anything medicated such as a pill or creme a shoulder and use something else before I use them.