+ Reply to Thread

Thumbs up Introducing Myself - TeeJay

Hey Everyone:

TeeJay here, from Los Angeles. I'm very excited about this site - a safe, real, honest place! I've been listening to Spencer's show since February of 2008, and have loved it and the educational, no nonsense, therapeutic, and empathetic spirit of the show. Not to mention Spencer might hook me up with some seduction trainers so I can become a chick magnet.

My detailed hair loss story is on www.thebaldtruth.com, but I'd thought I'd provide a quick snapshot of it here. I started losing my hair in my mid-20s, while I was a graduate student in Boston, MA. It took me a little while to get over the denial phase, but, eventually the reality of my hair loss kicked me in the gut. Clueless and vulnerable, I fell hook, line, and sinker for the typical scams that prey on the emotionally-weakened state of mind of hair loss sufferers. I tried the lotions and potions (mostly Nioxin products), and had a surgery of 800-grafts with one of the big hair transplant clinics whose informercials saturate late-nite TV. Interestingly not one medical professional that I talked to recommended the FDA approved products (Rogaine or Propecia), including the doctors at the hair transplant clinic. In retrospect, the consultation at the hair transplant clinic was clearly a sales pitch. And I fell for it.

Fast forward a few years ... my hair transplant results were mediocre, at best, and I continued to lose hair. I almost had a second surgery with the same clinic, thinking that was the answer to my less-than-fortunate, pluggy-looking situation. But, when I returned to the clinic, I was told that my original doctor was no longer there, and that he may have changed office locations. With a little research of my own, I learned that my original doctor had actually quit the clinic, on very bad terms. Being very spooked by this, I backed out of a second surgery from the clinic, and simply retreated into my hair loss depression.