+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Theory on Fin

Default Theory on Fin

After reading a lot about Fin and MPB I have noticed something maybe significant, maybe not.

Many males suffer from low testosterone levels which is becoming a significant problem and I think males with mid-low testosterone levels that use Fin will have their test lowered and thus suffer from erectile dysfunction.

I know three people that use Fin now, all of whom have above average test levels and have had no side effects in this area that i know of. Obviously Im no expert or doctor but its just something ive noticed from personal experience...

what do you think?

Finasteride can actually raise testosterone, but obviously it will diminish dht.

IAHRS Recommended Hair Transplant Surgeon Dr. Glenn Charles's Avatar

I have never read that Finasteride lowers regular testosterone levels. If DHT has something to do with erectile function in men then maybe you are on to something. I have heard that they have tried to link DHT with libido but mot erectile function.
    Dr. Glenn Charles
    Member, International Alliance of Hair Restoration Surgeons
    View my IAHRS Profile

A 2008 paper in the Journal of Andrology is linked, the below excerpt is taken from the paper and may offer a reason why erectile dysfunction is occuring in some patients on finasteride.

http://www.andrologyjournal.org/cgi/.../full/29/5/514