+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default does lowering propecia dosage help?

hey everybody,

i have been on proscar (quartered tablets) for sixth months now and in that time period i have experienced one shed after another to the point where my crown (which before taking finasteride was only just beginning to thin) is now visible to the scalp. like all of your i have read countless blogs on line and informed myself to the utmost about why this could be:

the meds are working and i need to wait it out--although at a little over six months with no growth and nothing but shedding that is hard to believe.

i am a non responder.

i am hyper sensitive to hormonal imbalances and the increased testosterone due to the dht blocking is causing the hair to fall out.

OR--and the reason i believe the LEAST--is that in the last six months my mpb has decided to get super aggressive. i don't believe this because i have been losing my hair slowly and steadily for the last ten years and in the 6 months since i began talking finasteride it has gotten much, much worse--and yes--i have sides, too--loss of libido and my erections are not what they used to be.

so my question to all of you is twofold:

1. have any of you tried reducing your dosage to 1 mg every other day or to .5mg every day and seen an improvement--i.e. new growth less shedding?

3. for those of you getting off finasteride altogether--how did you wean yourself off the drug and have you returned to your baseline or close to it?

i know i ask a lot of you to answer these questions but i think this topic is really important to a lot of finasteride users out there who are not responding well to the drug and want to know what their options are because ONE thing we all know for sure: the statistics merck uses are inaccurate to say the very least.

many thanks and hope to hear from you!