+ Reply to Thread

Default Been receding since 17....

I started noticing my ever thinning circle on the crown of my head when I was 17 and whenever someone asked me and called it a bald spot I'd always just deny it. I've been denying it for 2 years and now have finally accepted my receding hairline and thinning spot in the back of my head. But I get so mad because I don't know why I have to deal with it. I am actually a really hairy person and have been able to grow a beard since 16, but I can't have a full head of hair? It's very depressing and i'm just glad that I didn't go fully bald in high school because I already got made fun of a lot for being one of the only guys with full on chest hair. Luckily I was a "popular" one so I was able to push it off. I really think it will (and does) affect my confidence with girls as my hair gets less and less. I'm still able to hide most of it. I'm very outgoing and usually funny, have no problem with girls, but I think I will once I am actually bald. I am going to school to be a police officer and my positive thinking just keeps repeating "all cops have to have short hair so it won't be a problem." It just sucks that it's happening to me and not someone who wants short hair....

Oh and balding runs in my family. I don't believe it would be anything else. I think I am the only one that has had it start early though. Dealing with it is my only option. I think using a wig or wasting money of replacement would be defeat.

Quote Originally Posted by Kendall B View Post
    But I get so mad because I don't know why I have to deal with it. I am actually a really hairy person and have been able to grow a beard since 16, but I can't have a full head of hair?
    It is because the same hormone that makes you hairy and enables you to have that full beard is the hormone that causes the hair on your head to fall out. The hormone is called DHT (Dihydrotestosterone).