+ Reply to Thread

Default Do FUE Hair Transplants Have The Same Rate of Shock Loss As Regular Hair Transplants?

I have been considering having an FUE hair transplant for almost five years and think that I am about ready to go through with it. I still have a relatively full hair and have only lost about two inches in my hairline which I would like to have restored. I have been on generic finasteride [...]

More...

IAHRS Recommended Hair Transplant Surgeon Dr. Glenn Charles's Avatar

There should be a similar percentages of shock loss with both FUE and FUT. It really depends on how much existing hair is remaining in the area that is being grafted and the health of that existing hair..
    Dr. Glenn Charles
    Member, International Alliance of Hair Restoration Surgeons
    View my IAHRS Profile

Good question. What causes shock loss? Is it the density of the grafts placed, the density of the incision sites, indvidual characteristics, or free radicals? No one really knows. i've always felt that density played a role. If you make more incision sites, shock loss is more possible. Then again, if you place a higher density of grafts that have been sitting in an an anaerobic environment for a longer period of time, then you have more free radicals in a small space. One thing i've noted over time with FUE is that my same high densities produce a lower rate of shock loss. Never the less, shock loss still rarely occurs in some patients. Still it is not as common.