+ Reply to Thread

Default To stop rogaine or not

I posted earlier but received little response. I have been thinning for about 2 years now. I am 23 and at a crossroads. I have NO crown balding but very obvious hairline issues and just generally thin hair. I started propecia almost a year ago, so far, no side effects, no issues. I started rogaine last february and experienced the typical 2-3 month shed. Things got better, i was happy to see it was under control. After the 5-6 month mark hit, it got worse. I have now been shedding more than ever before for the last month straight. It is looking bad up top so I called my DR at bosley. He didnt seem to have an answer and suggested to drop the roagine to see if that is what is causing the shed since it is impossible to tell while on 2 drugs. Like I said I have no crown balding, so rogaine might not even be worth using for me, since that is what it is supposed to fix. The thing I am worried about is if i do stop the rogaine, will it get even worse? I dont want to ruin what I already have, but I also dont want to compromise anything by quitting after 6 months of daily use.... any suggestions?

Just c what happens. It's hard to quit it.

I suggest stopping the treatment for a couple of weeks then going back on to them, I've seen similuar cases with other people and they did the same thing.

Quote Originally Posted by charlieNY View Post
    It is looking bad up top so I called my DR at bosley.
    First and foremost, Bosley is not the best place to go for help. If the NY at the end of your username means you are in NY, go see Dr. Bernstein.

http://www.bernsteinmedical.com/

Like I said I have no crown balding, so rogaine might not even be worth using for me, since that is what it is supposed to fix.