+ Reply to Thread

Default Need Help!!! How to best cover a receding hairline

Anyone, please offer some advice! Is there anyway to effectively mask a receding hairline?? I'd say I lost any were between 1/2" to 1" from my hairline. I'm not good at making this determination, but I'd say I'm either Norwood 2 or 3. Will Toppik or Dermmatch help? I was setting up a video conference unit today that used a 42" HDTV and I saw myself on it at a certain angle. I wanted to break down with an estrogen-filled moment of tears right there.........any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I started thinking about my hairloss a little less each day until this. This stinks.

Doctor Representative the B spot's Avatar

Pittfan---I happen to like Dermatch--it does add bulk to your thinning hair.

However, a hairline is difficult--- adding some Dermatch right behind your existing hairline, then brushing your hair forward is often a solid start.

You can often disguise loss in the crown or the frontal core, but the hairline is very difficult---anything out of the ordinary will draw the eye.

Another option is to start buzzing down to a #2 or #1, which will leave you with a stubble that will "shadow" your face---leaving you still looking young, without all the work.

Post a photo or two and we can get an idea of what your looking at.

Take Care,
    Jason
    Patient Advocate/FUE Coordinator for Shapiro Medical Group. My advice and opinions are my own and is not medical advice. I am a Cubs fan.

Thank you. I don't have any pics nor do I have a camera. I'll try to get a picture tomorrow and post it then. I am kind of leaning towards dermmatch.

I tried cutting my hair really short, but I don't think I have the head shape for that. When you say "frontal core" what part of the head is that. Thank you.

Arrow Dermmatch Fan Here!