+ Reply to Thread

Default Receding Hairline

I am 19 and I first started noticing that my hairline was going backwards about 18 months ago. It's not totally terrible at the moment, but it's certainly not ideal either.

Both my father and my his father are bald or going bald on top, but they weren't at my age.

I'm a student, so surgery is out of the questions. Plus I don't much fancy walking around with a skinhead and the red patches on my forehead.

So, I'm looking for a product or products that will help regrow my hairline (if it's even possible). I know there are a lot of hair products out there, so I don't really know where to start.

Thank you.

No there are not many products out there. There are only 2 that are actually proven with trials to work for most people. Propecia medication get on it asap, and Minoxidil 5% (Rogaine) if you be bothered applying it twice daily, or at least once at night.

Unfortunately that is all that works at the moment so if you want to keep what you have until hopefully something else comes out get on to it as soon as you can.

So all that stuff does is stops it from getting worse? It doesn't make the hair grow back?

Mainly stops it from getting worse. If you are lucky can help grow some hair back.

If some hair has has miniaturized but is still there it can improve the hair itself.

Quote Originally Posted by scarscalp View Post
    I would suggest try minoxidil by itself first, not propecia and minoxidil together because of the possible side effect of propecia.
    Good idea, but personally and from experience I would try propecia first as it gets to the problem from the inside. If you want more regrowth then add 5% minoxidil.