+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default PubMed.com & some of my own questions.

As a current medical student, our university makes us use PubMed for a lot of research articles. I just started playing around with it again today and started to see what would come up when typing in "androgenic alopecia". I'm turning 27 this year, and have began to notice quite a bit of hair loss. It's pretty crazy, because my sides and back are EXTREMELY thick, whereas the top is the complete opposite.

Doing some research, there were some interesting articles.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17202653

Current article talks about how using retinol (Vitamin A) in conjunction with Minoxidil, has showed some improvements for individuals with alopecia. For us individuals in medicine, science, the article is interesting as it mentions "elevated Bcl2/Bax ratio" showing reduced cell death.

I did have some questions that I would like to ask the community and I'm hoping that I could get some answers. According to Wikipedia's article on androgenic alo, it mentions the following:

Men with androgenic alopecia typically have higher levels of 5-alpha-reductase, lower levels of total testosterone, higher levels of unbound/free testosterone, and higher levels of total free androgens including DHT.[10][11]

5-alpha-reductase is responsible for converting free testosterone into DHT. The genes for 5-alpha-reductase are known.[12] The enzymes are present predominantly in the scalp and prostate. Levels of 5-alpha-reductase are one factor in determining levels of DHT in the scalp. Drugs which interfere with 5-alpha-reductase (such as finasteride, which inhibits the predominant type 2 isoform) have been approved by the FDA as treatments for hair loss.

Sex hormone binding globulin (SHBG), which is responsible for binding testosterone and preventing its bioavailability and conversion to DHT, is typically lower in individuals with high DHT. SHBG is downregulated by insulin.