+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Finasteride - the shed........

Hi guys,

i'm 21 and currently 2.5 months into proscar treatment (1.25mg daily). I definitely think my hairline is thinning and retreating at a faster rate, although I do not know if this is due to the infamous shed, or, the fact that as you reach a certain point in balding, each hair is vital to your overall appearance rather than somebody with a full head of hair losing some. What I mean is that I may be at this threshold point rather than the shed.

I'm a student of science and hence am very aware of the placebo affect and cannot trust my judgement on the matter. what I want to hear is peoples personal experiences of the : severity and duration of the shed. And also what results can i expect and when (I realise it varies but a hypothesis? I'm closing in on a full norwood 3 fast).

I'd also appreciate the voice of a HT surgeon as they will have seen loads of patients on the treatment.
    Also as I started proscar, I halved my minox dose to once daily (cant stand being seen with it on) - what affect would this have had???????

ps i realise this is covered throughout the forum but a specific thread on this one side effect would be nice (please dont mention any sexual sides etc)

I can't remember any shedding associated with the use of Fin. Nothing that I was aware of. I think people report that the shedding last about a couple of months or so. If Fin works for you, you should at least keep the hair you have. I don't think it's that effective in the hair line and it might not even prevent further loss in that area but who knows.
    With minox I can say there was some shedding but not massive shedding or anything. Apparently some people do experience some shedding with Fin when they first start using it. Nothing else I can add.