+ Reply to Thread

Default 22 and balding fast.

Hello all. First of all I would like to introduce myself. I am a 22 year old suffering from severe MPB. My pattern is of the diffuse type, however thinning is slightly worse in the crown and temple regions. I have been using Propecia, Regaine and Nizoral for the past 9 months with no results. My hair kept on shedding at the same rate it used to. As such my balding has now progressed to a stage where it is impossible to hide and thus making living life like a normal 22 year old would almost impossible. Under most lighting conditions you are able to see through my scalp, which makes the condition horribly unattractive.

Even though I’ve been reading around that I should try the medical treatment for at least a year or even a year and a half, I am now having serious doubts that it is helping out. I am therefor starting to consider a HT. Given that my pattern will probably take me to nw6/7 in a couple of years’ time, I don’t know what to expect from a HT. Is it even possible to achieve an aesthetically pleasing result at such a young age? Thanks.

I always feel sorry and sad for every man who's going through the hell of losing his hair. I know the pain you're feeling, man. It's too bad neither minoxidil nor propecia is helping at least slow down the loss. Usually after that many months of use you should be able to see results -if those meds were going to work.

I think most people will advise you not to get an HT at that young age but if your hair loss is progressing so quickly then there's no point of waiting since you know it's not going to stop and you also know where it's going to stop at from the overall thinning you're seeing.