+ Reply to Thread

Default Anyone tried Nanogen's [sh-VEGF] formula?

http://www.nanogen.co.uk/serum-vegf-...th-factor.html

I appologise in advance if this has already been covered in another thread, has anyone tried this product?

Oh great, answered my own question, they sell a product to "halt hair loss"... all hyped up as some kind of scientific breakthrough drug that costs £79... key ingredient?... Saw Palmetto and B Vitamins

Love it.

I also love how Follica said they would be at market in 3 years time, that was in 2008, now they have an interview with a guy from xeconomy stating they are still looking at ways to grow new hair.

I just love this industry.

Hi UK_

I am new to this so don't want to be rude, but on the page you linked to it gives the ingredients as:

Nanogen sh-VEGF Complex™
    The safe, plant derived growth factors in Nanogen sh-VEGF Complex support any treatment regime.
    The growth factors act to help reduce hair loss, and maintain healthy hair and scalp condition.

Superoxide Dismutase
    Provides broad spectrum antioxidant protection and may help to maintain levels of nitric oxide signals. This prevents damage to the hair follicle and maintains blood flow.

Hydrolysed Lupine Extract
    Protects the hair from damage that may cause it to fall, reducing hair loss. Maintains cell metabolic rates in the growing hair follicle.

So I don't think it even contains Saw Palmetto or B vitamins!

I actually signed on to this forum in hope of finding some opinion on the product because VEGF looks pretty impressive for maintaining hair. I don't know what your science was like at school - I wasn't exactly A+ material but have a look at this, even I can see that that says "doesn't regrow hair, but could be pretty damn good anyway":
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11181640

Of course, it may be absolute cr*p when outside a testube, I've got evidence and from what I can tell hair loss "cures" come and go faster than my hair!