+ Reply to Thread

Default Does Propecia thin your hair at first?

I've been on propecia for just under four months. I cut my hair real short so the hair i have left doesn't cover or camaflouge the balding areas. I really can't be sure but in my opinion i feel I've lost more hair in both the crown as well as frontal receding hairline points. Also it seems my hair is thinner in texture and takes a little longer to grow in but i'm thinking its more that it feels thinner. I want to continue because everyone says it takes up to a year but has anyone else experienced this?

Sounds like a classic "shed on the meds" - dont worry - you will pick up - keep with the meds and over the next 3 months you will now start to see the benefits.
    Visit my website: SPEXHAIR

Watch regular segments and interviews on The Bald Truth UK show

View Media interviews www.spexhair.media

Subscribe to my YouTube Channel : SpexHair Youtube

I am not a doctor or medical professional and my words should not be taken as medical advice. All opinions expressed are my own unless stated otherwise. Always consult with your own family doctor prior to embarking on any form of hair loss treatment or surgery.

IAHRS Recommended Hair Transplant Surgeon Dr. Glenn Charles's Avatar

Some doctors feel that those who get a initial shedding when starting Finasteride end up getting more from it than those who do not have any initial shedding. They say that its the patients body responding to the new stimulus. I am still on the fence about this situation.
    Dr. Glenn Charles
    Member, International Alliance of Hair Restoration Surgeons
    View my IAHRS Profile

Dr. Charles,