+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Default Propecia erectile dysfunction effect is real folks

Hi there,

I have been taking propecia for years. it was a miracle drug for me -- i was losing my hair when i was 19! i have lots of male relatives who lost their hair at the same age within a year. i am now 32, and i have all my hair!! yet, all this time, i had thought...i'm just getting older, things are not working quite as well. in fact, thinking back, i had lost my morning erections a long time ago and had pretty lousy quality erections otherwise. i recently had experiences with a new sexual partner that made me question whether this medicine was harmless or not, and then reviewed some of the medical literature. i then went to speak to my own doctor and he was certain it was the propecia. incidentally, i am a physician as well.

the medical literature directly looking at propecia is mixed. some say yes, others say its a 'nocebo' effect -- ie you think you lose your drive because you're on the med. however, i then came across an article which stunned me.

here is the background -- men with sickle cell anemia will get painful, damaging (ie penis can become permanently painfully scarred) erections called 'priapism' due to sickle blood cells getting 'stuck' in the small vessels during erections. so, a group of physicians in brazil tried to see what happened if they used Finasteride/Propecia to 'decrease' the number of erections these men had. guess what - it WORKED! they started at 5mg, and then tapered to 1 mg after 120 days, and there was a very significant decrease in episodes of priapism. 1mg, of course is the propecia dose. personally, i cannot see how this article would be anything other than clear and obvious evidence that propecia can cause erectile dysfunction, and certainly in a lot more than 2% of men, because all of these men had improvements.