+ Reply to Thread

Default Quick Advice Needed in DC

Hi, I currently have an appt with Dr. Giannotto in DC for an HT of 1500 grafts later this week. I'm new to the world of HTs, and literally, went from doing some light research one day, to a consultation the next, making a deposit and scheduling the procedure. Of course, after doing that, some anxiety set in and I started doing some deeper research which led to this great forum.

In researching this forum, it seems there's a very reputable alternative Dr. in the area (Dr. Lindsey) - had I found this forum first, I would have just gone directly to him. But in the meantime, I've layed down a deposit ($1500) and am curious if I should stay with Dr. Giannotto...who doesn't seem to get the best reviews on this site, or just lose the deposit and go with the Dr. with the better reputation.

Is there a strong consensus for/against Dr. Giannotto? What would you do? I should say that my experience thus far with his office has been great. The consultant I worked with has been very good about answering questions and I will meet the Dr. tomorrow for a consultation. I don't mind losing the deposit if in the long run, I'm better off getting the job with a better reputed Dr., but as I'm not independently wealthy, it would sting a bit which makes this decision a bit tough.

Let me know what you think? It's quite a dilemma for me. Thank you in advance for any and all responses.

I think you answered your own question about him not getting the best reviews. I want to get a transplant too but I'm freaked out after reading all these reviews. How old are you and how bad is your hair?

Hi, thx for your reply. I'm 37 and while I'm new to all the hair loss terminology, based on the charts, it looks like I'm a #3. While I've been losing my hair since my mid 20s, only recently it's becoming more noticeable and difficult to style.