+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

Default New Member Saying Hello

Hi Everyone,

My name is Ben and I'm new here. Well, I should say that this is my first time posting. I've been lurking on this forum and others on occasion for several years now since the start of my hair loss.

The gist of my hair loss story is that I'm a diffuse thinner with a bit of recession in the temples and a bald spot starting at the back. I'm 36 now, and I first started noticing my hair loss 6-7 years ago. My hair was long at the time and I would end up with a decent amount of hair on my brush, but my hair was still thick and curly, so I just figured that was normal for having long hair (women's brushes are always full of hair). I cut it short and then realized that I was actually losing hair. I ignored it for about a year since it was slow and noticeable to no one but me.

About 5 years ago, I decided to try Finasteride. I got a prescription through my doctor and began taking 1.25mg daily (generic cut in to quarters). I responded VERY well (no sides ever except for a day or so of slight ball ache right at the beginning) and my hair seemed to thicken up again, so problem solved...right?

About 1.5 years ago I became concerned that I was thinning again, so I added Kirkland Minoxidil foam. I've used it religiously, but honestly I'm not sure if it's ever really made a difference for me. I don't feel like I've ever seen any of the little "fluffy" hairs that people seem to get when it starts working. Still using it but wondering if I should drop it at this point. Would hate to have a shed but I'm not sure if it's put anything additional on my head to lose.