+ Reply to Thread

Default DHT or Iron Deficiency or Both?

Okay, I'm going to share my story in the hopes that it will resonate with somebody and maybe get me some answers!
    I'm a 27 year old male, Ive been losing my hair for around 3 years now and at the beginning of this year, I noticed that it was falling out so quickly that in another year, I would'nt have had any left. I went to see Dr. Robert Bernstein in the city and he prescribed Finasteride(generic) and Minoxidil. I started on these in early March. I noticed my hair got even worse after about a month but I stayed on the treatment. After another 2 weeks, I started to see excellent results. My hair became stronger and stopped falling out and I could see noticeable regrowth. I took pictures every few weeks or so and the improvement continued through May and June and into July. Things were going better than I could have ever hoped!
    Then, something happened! All of a sudden, a side effect showed up out of nowhere,(ED), it hit me like a ton of bricks, I thought maybe it was just in my head for about a day or 2 but you quickly realize that this is unmistakeable! After another week I decided to stop the Finasteride just to see what would happen. Sure enough, the ED gradually went away and within a week, I was completely back to normal. I only stopped the FIN for about 5 days, then went back on it and skipped a dose maybe a couple of times a week for the next 2 weeks just so that ED would not come back. During all of this, my hair was still doing great. Then all of a sudden once I was back to my normal dosage, I started shedding like crazy! I mean terrible shedding! This has not stopped since(2 weeks and counting) and it is really scaring the hell out of me. My hair seems to be losing its strength that it had gained and falling out uncontrollably!