+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Shedding on Finasteride/Regenpure shampoo?

*I originally posted this in a different sub-forum, but I didn't get many replies because I posted it in the wrong one*

I have been using Finasteride and Regenpure shampoo for almost 2 months now. I still have a lot of shedding. I have noticed I have less shedding when I actually run my fingers through my hair than before I started my regimen. In the shower it is a completely different story. My hands are usually covered in strands of hair!

Is this normal? I always hear shedding is normal on Minoxidil, but I am not using that. It is definitely freaking me out! I hope this is normal. "KeepTheHair" started his regimen about the same time I did, but he has minoxidil in his regimen and I don't. I don't think I could succeed using minoxidil because it seems like a huge hassle and I am hoping finasteride/shampoo is good enough.

Shedding on finasteride is quite common and only temporary. It's likely that your follicles are responding to the drug and shutting down their current growth cycle to begin a new one in which new, healthier hair will grow. The shedding you are experiencing should stop and reverse by the 3rd or 4th month and the new hair should grow back thicker and stronger.

I've been on Fin for about 7 months and have been continuously shedding. Guess everyone responds different.

If you want help you should mention your entire regimen.

Quote Originally Posted by KeepTheHair View Post
    If you want help you should mention your entire regimen.
    My regimen is just what I said. Regenepure NT/DR every other day and Finasteride daily.

BTW, I never got an email back from you regarding your progress pics.

I hope this does pass by 3/4 months!