+ Reply to Thread

Default Q from a newbie: are any natural treatments effective?

I'm 35 and started losing my hair at 21. For 10 years I used 2% Rogaine and it worked great - maintained my hair, and I maybe had even a little regrowth. I noticed, though, that during the last year or so I was using it that I felt some angina (heart pain) whenever I applied it, and my doctor told me that's a rare but real side effect of minoxidil. I quit using it and the pain disappeared. I decided at that moment to only attempt natural treatments, since it's better to have my health than my hair (though I must admit I don't always feel that way!). I found a recipe for Zix II, which seemed to work OK - it slowed my loss, but didn't stop it like the minox. I've been using it for the last 3 years, but it has started to quickly lose it's effectiveness (I also use Nizoral shampoo). In the last couple days I've been trying to research natural treatments, but for the life of me I can't figure out what may be legit and what is a hoax. Revivogen, Tricomin, LLLT, Retin-a, Spironolactone, etc... it seems like for every positive thing I read about any of these there are 3 people who call it a scam. I'm not looking for a miracle cure - I know that Propecia and Minox are the only two treatments proven to work - but for my own peace of mind, I'd like to at least TRY something that may help, instead of just giving up. I'd say I'm a Norwood 3A. Thanks for any suggestions.

Default ...and just a PS...