+ Reply to Thread

Default 42 year old male

Hi, I'm Michael and I'm 42. I do have a question. I have thin hair on top and around the sides and back of my head it's thick. I'm not going bald but the hair follicles on top are thin. They seem to be getting thinner. I can take a hair from the side and compare it to one I pull from the top and you can see the difference. So, I wouldn't say I'm bald but have thin hair follicles on top.

What would be a good direction for me to go to try to make the thin hair follicles on top become thicker?

Thanks so much and I'm sure glad this forum is here...

Michael

talk to a doctor about propecia. that medication helps a lot of people. good luck.

Default Propecia

I had some dizziness from taking that so I had to stop it. I also thought that was for balding but I'm not balding, I just have thin hair follicles.

Male pattern baldness is progressive. Your hair becomes thinner and thinner until you eventually develop a bald spot.

I am no expert.

But if I was in your position I would try a smaller dose of finasteride(propecia) or try it every second or third day. It really is your only option.

Are you sure it is the source of your dizziness? Are you currently using minoxidil(rogaine)?

Minoxidil lowers blood pressure slightly in some patients(rare) and can thus cause dizziness. I have experienced this myself. Side effects tend to be exaggerated while you are ill.

In any case, I advice you to try minoxidil also. And also pick up a shampoo containing ketoconazole. Nizoral shampoo is the most popular.

Keep reading and educate yourself before it is too late. You are definitely in the denial stage. You ARE balding. It is most likely male pattern baldness. Speak a dermatologist.

Tackle this early.

Good luck.

Default ...