+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Conflicting advice about how many grafts I may need

Hi all, I'm a total newbie both here and in the world of hair restoration so sorry if I'm a bit slow to understand some things but please bear with me!

I recently decided to pursue the idea of a hair transplant, I've narrowed my options down to two doctors, both in different countries to me (I live in New Zealand). I'm not going to mention the names of these doctors for now because I don't want to risk bias in any potential replies and I also believe they are both recommended on this site and may read this thread.

I'm very confident that both doctors have excellent reputations but the thing is they've given me conflicting advice as to how many grafts I may need. One says 2000-2500 and the other says 4000. These estimates have been made only by looking at photos I emailed them so I totally understand that I can't get an exact number, but they're miles apart!

Anyway, my question is: If you look at the photos I've attached, would anybody be able to tell me which of the two estimates is more likely to be correct?

Thanks in advance and feel free to ask any questions if I've missed anything.Click image for larger version

Name:	20161005_092246.jpg

Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	48878Click image for larger version

Name:	20161005_092539.jpg

Size:	64.4 KB
ID:	48879Click image for larger version

Name:	20161005_092637.jpg

Size:	63.6 KB
ID:	48880Click image for larger version

Name:	20161005_092910.jpg

Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	48881Click image for larger version

Name:	20161005_095150.jpg

Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	48882

Hmmmm.

2000 seems very low.

I can tell you that you and I have similar balding patterns-- except you have a stronger crown.

Anyway, my transplant was 3,700 grafts and that was to re-build the entire front third.

Based on my own experience and looking at your images, I'd say 4,000 was closer to the mark.

Hal