+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Fue vs Strip

Default Fue vs Strip

I am about to schedule a consultation with Dr. Konior and was trying to figure out the advantages and disadvantages of the two. Also is the recovery time faster with one vs the other and which one is more succesful?

I'm not a doctor, but in the meantime from what I know:

FUE leaves less scarring and is typically essential these days for a natural look at the front. It heals quicker but is more expensive.

Strip is an older method, still often used on the crown because it's cheaper and hidden by the FUE at the front (so natural look is retained).

A doctor will fill in the details and correct me where I'm wrong!

Since my hair line is receding i should try to go with the fue then?

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by Fixed by 35 View Post
    I'm not a doctor, but in the meantime from what I know:

FUE leaves less scarring and is typically essential these days for a natural look at the front. It heals quicker but is more expensive.

Strip is an older method, still often used on the crown because it's cheaper and hidden by the FUE at the front (so natural look is retained).

A doctor will fill in the details and correct me where I'm wrong!
    That’s completely incorrect.

FUE and FUT are both methods of extracting follicular units. Fue is a method where the doctor removes one follicle at a time from the back or sides of the head leaving, in many cases, a tiny white scar (1000 grafts=1000tiny scars). FUT uses the strip method where a strip of scalp is removed from the donor area in the back of the head and cut into follicular units under a microscope. In the end the follicles are the same but extracted differently so there is no difference in using FUE or FUT for hairlines except for cost and recovery time.
    FUT is still the most performed type of hair transplant because of it consistent results.