+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Thinking of Restarting Rogaine

I stopped using topical Rogaine (liquid and foam) about 5 years ago. I had been using it for over 3 years, and had good results. I stopped using Rogaine (5% Minoxidil) because I began taking Propecia instead. But, Propecia was only modestly effective in regrowing my hair. It mostly stopped my remaining hair from falling out.

After I stopped Rogaine, I noticed a lot of shedding, which resulted in a significant bald spot at the crown of my head. To cover it up, I used a concealer called Hair So Real.
    But, this product has gotten on my nerves over the years, and I'm tired of using it. I want my real hair back!
    So, I'm now considering restarting Rogaine and ditching the concealer.*

My question is, what results can a man (age 46) expect from restarting Rogaine? Will the results be as good as the first time I used it, or is there typically a decrease in its effectiveness the second time around?

* I'll continue taking Finasteride 0.5 mg.

Minoxidil just like finasteride is best used when hairloss has just begun, it probably won't be as effective, nevertheless it's better than nothing.