+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Exclamation I hear more horror stories than success stories

Hi all,

I have been losing my hair since I was around 19-20 yrs old (now 26). I decided to go down the hair replacement route for a while but that wasn't really for me. Along with a lot of guys on here hair loss has caused me major depression and limited my life so to speak fairly extensively.

I have been on this forum researching and looking into HT for around a year now as it is something which I am definitely considering as a final option to fix things or gain back a little self-confidence in life. However, I seem to read MORE horror stories and HT's going wrong than I do success stories. Hair transplants have been around for long enough now that one would like to think they are standard practice and fairly advanced however it seems to me that the longer time goes on the more mistakes happen?

When reading online as we all know it is very difficult to find non-biased information. You google "best hair transplant surgeons in UK" or whatever and all those results you see are paid Adwords so thats no good. . I think surgeons can pay to be part of these associations right? I even just read a post on here from a guy, Alan who had his HT with an IAHRS surgeon and its THE most horrific story I have read so far! What does that tell us?

I guess what I am trying to say is that it's so difficult to find through research these days WHERE is even reliable to go for a good HT. Then on top of that there is so much information out there saying that even if you DO find a good surgeon and pay them a sizeable chunk of money for your HT. . EVEN THEN your not guaranteed to get a great result, even then it can cause your hair to fall out or give you constant redness of scalp, or the grafts could not take. . You can be £10k ++ out of pocket to look worse than you did before?!!