+ Reply to Thread

Default Minoxidil - significant shedding!!!

Hi all, I've been using Finasteride for a couple of years now, however my hair's been thinning out slowly and decided about a month and a half back to start using 2% Minoxidil in conjunction with Finasteride to attempt combatting the problem.

I must admit being rather concerned as I'm shedding a hell of a lotta hair for about a month now and not too sure if i should continue using the Minoxidil and if I should, would 5% be the better option?

Please help.

hey, this is exactly why im afraid to add minox to my regime. However I think youll be alright if you ride it out. Rogain warns of a shead the first two months on its packaging and says its a good sign, so I wouldnt quit now If I were you. You started and now your halfway through the sheds, so why not stick it out? Any reason why you are using 2% instead of 5% foam, I have heard the 5% foam blows 2% out of the water in terms of results and ease to apply. Good Luck!

Absolutely, I hear what you're saying yet I am quite concerned, the last thing I wanna do is loose the existing hair, also, after reading through the forums over here it appears that a lot of people have had some rather bad experiences with minoxidil.

I'm using the generic minoxidil, the pharmacy I purchased it from only had one 5% in stock so thought I'd start off with 2% and then move onto the 5% to kind of ease into it. I'm just about done with the 2% so should be starting the 5% in the next week or two.

I must admit I'm very much in two minds currently as the shedding is rather significant. Reckon based on the replies I get on this forum I'll make a more informed decision as to continue using the minoxidil.

Thumbs up