How exactly does a hair transplant help? - BaldTruthTalk.com
+ Reply to Thread

Default How exactly does a hair transplant help?

Hey.

I'm new to the topic of hair transplants.

My question is, for someone who is gradually balding in the hairline and the crown, is it best that he waits for his baldness to progress completely before deciding to do a hair transplant?

If someone knows that he *will* go completely bald (NW7 say), is there any use in getting a hair transplant when it's just begun? If he keeps getting transplants like this for every bit of hair he loses, what is the use? Eventually he would have spread out the little amount of good hair all over his scalp.

(I see pictures of patients who got a transplant for a receding hairline and they look great. But how are they sure more hair won't fall off? what will they do if it does?)

Thank you

This is the inherent issue, or one of them, that every hair tranpslant patient must consider. Hair loss is progressive and with the right medical therapy loss can be greatly slowed or even stopped and this is what should be done before surgery is ever considered. I always used to tell patients when I was a consultant, you have to be ready for the prospect of "when" you need another hair transplant, not "if". It doesn't mean it will always happen but odds are, it will.

Now, if loss is just starting and it is a matter of milde recession then one must work with their doctor to determine if it is worthwhile to move forward surgically, assuming all other options have been exhausted. If surgery is deemed to be worthwhile then a plan should be made incorporating just enough grafts to address the issue at hand without robbing the future. It's a balancing act that we all go through so in the end, once you are educated enough, you are the only one that can determine if it is indeed worthwhile or not.
    Joe Tillman
    The original Hair Transplant Mentor

Interested to know which doctors I recommend?