+ Reply to Thread

Default Dealing With Hairloss (Age 20)

Hi, my name is Thomas. I first began noticing my hair loss around the age of 16. It was very slow at first but began increasing after about 2 years. I am now 20 and the effects of hair loss are very noticable especially at the temples and hairline.

I have started using rogaine(about 3 weeks ago) and am going through the shedding phase. This does not bother me because I have read many articles that state the shedding phase means its working and is only temporary. I also bought Nizoral shampoo a few days ago and am going to start using that as well.

However with what research I have done over the last few months I understand that Minoxodil and Nizoral together won't protect my hair from the effects of DHT and I called a local dermatologist in hopes to get a proscar prescription(generic) since I am a college student and my finances don't leave much room for the high cost of propecia.

Hairloss has lowered my self esteem over the last couple of years. I have read others stories that are similar to mine and it really is hard to deal with. Being so young and having something like this happen to you that you have no control over. Especially when so many of your peers have yet to experience this and probably wont until they are in their late 20's or early 30's.

I am extremely happy that I'm growing up in a world that now has the technology to not only stop or prevent hairloss, but can replace lost hair with advanced surgical procedures. I hope that in the near future my hairloss will stop and can have a hair restoration procedure done to repair and fill in my hairline and temple regions.

I went ahead and took some pictures so others can see the progression of my loss.

Smile Welcome!

Welcome to the site Thomas. I know how hard it can be losing your hair at a young age. I started taking Propecia when I was around your age and it helped me very much. I think it’s really your best defense.