+ Reply to Thread
    Doctor Representative Limmer HTC's Avatar

Thumbs up I have never seen a case like this...

Having been involved in follicular unit micrografting since I was a 3rd year medical student (~19 years), I thought I’d seen it all…good and bad. But on 12/16/09 a patient presented to my office having had a prior transplant in Florida (he did not elaborate further). He was a very pleasant young man who showed me his problem and asked if I could help, but I was almost speechless when he told me his procedure was performed only a year or so ago.
    Now I have seen and repaired many cases, however the linearity of his graft placement (perfect row after perfect row) was the most striking I’ve seen. Compounding this problem is the fact he is Asian, has dark coarse hair, had compression of multi hair grafts, some pitting and the angle of placement was off by almost 90 degrees. In addition, his case is complicated by a very extensive/wide donor scar.
    So many problems in one case leaves me only to think this could have been done by someone with very limited experience or training in the field of hair restoration. I present it here as I feel this site has helped direct patients to good physicians who not only understand how to perform the surgery, but have the knowledge, experience and artistry to complete the case and avoid the many pitfalls this patient experienced.

Presented today are his preop photos demonstrating the problems we faced:
    • linearity of prior graft placement
    • compression of muti hair grafts up front
    • pitting around some of his grafts
    • poor angle of prior grafts
    • a wide donor scar