+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Hair loss due to stress and diet

Has anyone experienced significant hair loss due to stress or diet?
    Over the past 6 to 8 months I have experienced off and on stressful events. I would categorize the stress level as significant. During these stressful months, my diet has been poor, and my exercise routine stopped.
    In the last 2 - 3 months, I have experienced significant hair thinning and shedding.
    Does anyone have any comments or experience with this?

I saw a derm about this. Basically she said 9/10 men that go to her beacuase of hair loss will be experiencing mpb. But if you have had significant stress and poor nutrition then hair that should have been shed to allow thicker newer hair through may just stay there thus leaving limp thinning hair. Now this is just the very basics I can remember her telling me, I could be wrong - I am not a professional.

Like I said, not going to pretend I know the whole process because I don't. I think much of it comes under 'seborrhoeic dermatitis'. But it would be all over your hair, not just the front and back mpb prone areas.

The loss is only in the MPB area as far as I can tell. I visited two dermatologist who specialize in hair/hair transplants and my primary care physician. Both of the dermatologist told me that the source of the hair loss cannot be determined by the area of hair loss or from the hairs that are shedding. One dermatologist told me that the hair in the MPB area are just more prone to the stress and that's why there is significant shedding there. I already suffer from MPB, and I had been on propecia/generic finasteride for about 4 years. In the last 18 month, I had switched from name brand propecia to generic finasteride. My hair loss had seemed to be under control until these past 2-3 months. I am unclear weather the stress or generic drug is to blame.