+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Quit minoxidil after a year without regrowth

I've been using minoxidil (Rogaine foam) since January 2014. Haven't seen any regrowth. If anything, my previously pretty mild case of MPB has picked up the pace considerably. May or may not be a coincidence (I saw quite a few reports of minoxidil only accelerating hair loss instead of helping), but I decided to quit it. So I have been off min for about two weeks, and it seems that the dreaded shed is starting. Losing a lot of hair all day long, can pull 2-3 hairs from anywhere on my head any given time. Also, my scalp is itching as crazy.

But it doesn't make sense - what hair am I shedding since I haven't regrown any in the first place?! Could it be that my hair has become "minoxidil-dependent"? If it has, then that's real bad news to me, since I've been using it all over my scalp (my hair thinned out all over due to hypothyroidism, so I thought it wouldn't hurt to thicken it up a little).

Is there anyone on this board who had a similar experience with quitting min? Any and all advice would be welcome.

Your wasting your time taking minoxidil if you don't use it in conjunction with a DHT blocker such as Fin or Dut. Rogaine does nothing to stop the route cause of hair loss DHT, so results on this regimen alone will be limited as you still have dht attacking your hair follicles

Quote Originally Posted by FFS View Post
    Your wasting your time taking minoxidil if you don't use it in conjunction with a DHT blocker such as Fin or Dut. Rogaine does nothing to stop the route cause of hair loss DHT, so results on this regimen alone will be limited as you still have dht attacking your hair follicles
    I know. But it seems that if your MPB is not very aggressive (my case certainly wasn't), minoxidil can help regrow or at least maintain what you have. What I'm interested in is, why am I shedding now? I haven't regrown anything.