+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Unhappy What to do if propecia hasn't worked

I appear to be at an impasse now. I've been medicating with finasteride for 6 months, and while it has improved my hair, the improvement is not sufficient enough for me to keep using the drug indefinitely. The new hairs that have come in are so insubstantial, and are very thin and have very little pigment. And what's more, it has done little to thicken the hair I do have. I suppose I have to know when to surrender to a situation that has no possible victory, and balding has taught me this in the most harshest of ways.

So now that I've exhausted the primary treatments of Rogaine (made my hair way worse, "unmasked" a lot of further MPB according to my Derm) and Finasteride, what else can be done? Are there people on here who've failed to see results with the above treatments and maintained the hair they have other ways? I know it's unlikely, as my genetics are against me, but I'd still like to try.

While I'm not personally on propecia, I do believe the general knowledge of it is to give it at least a year to 18 months. If you quit now you might lose ground you could've at least held onto until you figured out later it didn't work as well as you wanted. Just a thought.

I am kind of in the same boat. I have seen some improvement, but it isn't drastic or anything. I still have the same buzz cut I did when I started this hair loss battle. I know many don't like to hear this, but I will give the typical response, you need to give finasteride more time to work. 6 months just isn't enough time to judge how much it will improve your hair. There is also dutasteride if you want to give that a try.

Quote Originally Posted by Notcoolanymore View Post