+ Reply to Thread

Default Hair-loss veteran (13 years on medication) losing ground.

Hi,

I am a 36 year old Norwegian male that has been struggling with hairloss since the age of 19-20. At 23 I was very thin all over the NW5 area, so I started taking Propecia/Dut (a couple of years later I added Minox and Nizoral shampoo. So I have been using Propecia for 13-14 years) I am one of those lucky ones that was a VERY good responder to the medication and didn't had any sides (Didn't know there was any at the time). Within a couple of year after I started taking the medication I regrown most of what I lost.

I left for to study abroad just when I started taking the medication and when I came back to Norway after 4 years abroad all my friends and family thought I was wearing a wig or had done a hair transplant. It was GREAT
    I had a full head of hair. I didn't have my hair of a 16 year old male, but I had a full head of hair and people couldn't see that I was thinning.

I kept my youthful hair for about 10 years before I started to lose ground. I think the medication is still working, but my genes is definitely winning this battle. I am thinning in the whole NW5/6 area and must use a lot of toppik and concealers to hide my hairloss

I have been lurking around on different hair loss and hair transplant sites for a couple of years, but I haven't found anyone with the same history as mine doing a hair transplant.

My question is : Is there a problem doing a hair transplant after using medication for so long?

Background
    36 Years old, male, using medication for 13 years, brother was a NW6 by the time he was 26, mother side is full of NW6 baldies, want hair transplant.

Ask me anything about my 13 year old battle against hairloss

Edit: I just want to add that I still have more hair today then what I had before I started the treatments some 13 year ago. T

The medication stopped working? How is that possible?