+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default stem cell news: iPS cells reverted to pristine state

Researchers cracked a major hurlde in the iPS (cells reverted back to stem cells) area. Until now, the resulting iPS cells were still slightly genetically different from their Embryonic counterparts. The Europeans have not solved that and can now create pristine state stem cells from for example skin cells: http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases...0911125047.htm

Who was in contact with dr Xu ? I think it was SdSurfin right ? I'd love to hear his comment on this breakthrough ! Maybe this facilitates the ipS -> DP cell differentation.

Arashi, I am quite new to this hair cloning business and don't seem to find much on google. As an experienced person could you tell me why it isn't possible yet, so what the problems are and how far we are with this? Actually I am wondering if there is anything to look forward to...

Quote Originally Posted by 2young2bald View Post
    Arashi, I am quite new to this hair cloning business and don't seem to find much on google. As an experienced person could you tell me why it isn't possible yet, so what the problems are and how far we are with this? Actually I am wondering if there is anything to look forward to...
    Yeah we'd need a newbie FAQ. But in short: if we have DP cells we can grow hair, so the problem is getting those DP cells. There are 2 options to make DP cells:

1) Deduce stem cells to differentiate into DP cells or
    2) Culture DP cells.

Nobody succeeded yet in doing that first, yet it seems a plausible route and Dr Xu also said this would be very possible. But since induced pluripotent stem cells weren't 100% identical to embryonic stem cells, that could have formed a big problem. It seems that's now out of the way but I don't have any idea how difficult it is to deduce inducede pluripotent stem cells, with this new method, to become DP cells and how well those would grow hair.