+ Reply to Thread

Default Suffered gyno side effects, but should I go back to Fin if I want a HT?

Hi all, first-time poster here.

I've been losing my hair for about 7-8 years now. I'm 29, probably a Type 3 NW. It isn't super noticeable because I'm a ninja with Toppik, but next year I want to finally get a HT. I use 5% minox every evening.

Having used finasteride (proscar, sometimes fincar) for years I finally quit last summer. I had some erectile issues from time to time but the big problem was gynecomastia, which got so noticeable during a span of 12 months that I needed to get surgery, which was reasonably successful. I quit finasteride and haven't used it since. I can't absolutely point to finasteride as being the cause of the gyno, but I've always been slim, so I can't see how it might have occurred naturally.

However, I keep hearing that I need to stabilize my hair loss before a HT but I'm reluctant to risk the gyno returning. Plus, I now live in the Middle East and finasteride is impossible to get, but next summer I will leave and probably go to Europe or US, where I would be able to get finasteride and (conceivably) stabilize my hair loss before a HT.

Any advice? I want to give myself the best chance for an optimal HT down the line but I really don't want to have another gyno operation too.

I had the same dilemma last year. I got drug-induced gynecomastia (not from finasteride though) and I had to undergo surgery to remove it, here's the topic about my gyno surgery: https://www.gynecomastia.org/smf/13/...fter-pictures/

A year and a half after the surgery, I wanted to have a FUE, but I was NW5 at 24. I hesitated a lot as finasteride was out of the question for me, but went for it anyway, the topic about my FUE is here: https://www.baldtruthtalk.com/thread...d-NW5-from-DPA