Thread: Scalp pain

Default Scalp pain

I have been asking MD's for over 2 years about pain on my scalp; the pain you feel when you have your hair in a pony tail too long. Right now the pain is constant - there is nothing I do that will relieve it and the frontal hair loss is extreme during this time. Is there anything I can do or will it continue until I lose all my hair? I feel very desperate.

Elaine

Elaine I have scalp pain too. Mine is different from yours more of a stinging with a pink scalp. I've had it 3 years. I would love to hear Dr. Redmonds thoughts

Hi - I hope he responds. I live in NYC where he practices. I just might have to make an appointment although I imagine he is very expensive. I will keep you up to date.

Medical Advisor Geoffrey Redmond, MD, FACE's Avatar

Arrow

Quote Originally Posted by elaine2692 View Post
    I have been asking MD's for over 2 years about pain on my scalp; the pain you feel when you have your hair in a pony tail too long. Right now the pain is constant - there is nothing I do that will relieve it and the frontal hair loss is extreme during this time. Is there anything I can do or will it continue until I lose all my hair? I feel very desperate.

Elaine
    Scalp pain is very common. I was taught in medical school that it is psychological but realized many years ago that this is incorrect. Scalp discomfort consisting of itching, or burning, or a pulling sensations is commonly associated with hair loss. It is also common during the menopause transition when it is often, but not always, associated with increased hair shedding.