+ Reply to Thread

Default Am a candidate for hair transplant?

Hi,
    I am 24 years old and I have alopecia universalis since the age of 7. I have tried everything but nothing worked. Now I am thinking of having a hair transplant surgery but I don't know if I am the right candidate. Besides having no hair I have also light complexion, the meditteranean type, that is not tottally white nor brunette either. My hair colour was dark brown. What do you think? Is there someone that I can speak to?
    Thank you.

Hannah

Dear Hannah Im not a doctor I am a patient the only advice I can give you is if you are a candidate for Hair transplants make sure you do your homework and get a couple of opinions.When you visit with a doctor and they seem very vague not knowing how many procedures you will need run!!!!!!!These are the individuals that make the industry so shady they just want you to keep coming back and spending way more money than they lead you to believe from the start.I have had many surgeries and one of my biggest regrets is I just didnt shave my head when I started loosing my hair and be bald. I am scar ridden now and I cant do that.Im sure there are good doctors out there I dont know where you are located but write down all your questions before you visit with them ask to see other patients and please look them up to see if there any complaints filed against them. good luck...... tdrake

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by mewxhak7 View Post
    Hi,
    I am 24 years old and I have alopecia universalis since the age of 7. I have tried everything but nothing worked. Now I am thinking of having a hair transplant surgery but I don't know if I am the right candidate. Besides having no hair I have also light complexion, the meditteranean type, that is not tottally white nor brunette either. My hair colour was dark brown. What do you think? Is there someone that I can speak to?
    Thank you.

Hannah
    Dear Hannah,

I'm so glad you found our new forum!