+ Reply to Thread

Default High DHT levels- question

I have been doing testosterone injections for 6 months. I am 48 and worried about hair loss. My hair is pretty good and i want to keep it that way. However, with 100 mgs per week my DHT levels were 92 on day 7 after injection, range is 25-70. So mine were high, also, i woukd imagine dht was much higher the day after injection. Are having high dht a sure ticket to hair loss?

Quote Originally Posted by lexer View Post
    I have been doing testosterone injections for 6 months. I am 48 and worried about hair loss. My hair is pretty good and i want to keep it that way. However, with 100 mgs per week my DHT levels were 92 on day 7 after injection, range is 25-70. So mine were high, also, i woukd imagine dht was much higher the day after injection. Are having high dht a sure ticket to hair loss?
    All depends on your follicles sensitivity to DHT. Do you have any hairloss or any family history of hairloss? If you notice your hair declining considering hoping on finasteride, even a low dose would probably help you.

Do you know what your DHT levels were prior to doing test injections?

Prior to using injections, my dht was 35 towards the low end then again total T was in low 300's.
    I thought i read somewhere that said if you are not meant to lose hair, all the dht in the world wont cause hair loss.. Any truth to that?
    I am thinking propecia also because my prostate is a tad enlarged and i have some inflammation which sucks..
    My prostate is not big, just slightly enlarged which i guess starts in your 40's.