+ Reply to Thread

Default Realistic expectations from HT

Hello.

This is my first time on this forum and I hope to learn a lot from all you guys here!

I am a 31 year old guy and have been suffering from hair loss for the best part of 8-9 years now. I believe it is genetic since my father is near bald now, my grandfather has always been bald and my brother is balding along the crown.

So I have baldness in my family, though the baldness patterns are different. I am losing hair pretty much from the crown of my head and the temples.

I need not mention how traumatic the last few years have been for me. I leave that discussion for a drunk day! Today, I would love to hear your opinions on hair transplant and what to realistically expect from it.

I consulted with a renowned hair transplant surgeon and I was told that I make an excellent candidate for HT because I have really good donor hair. He recommended 1650 grafts (with 500 double follicular units) for the first op and the same count for the 2nd op a year later.

Its a lot of money and although I don't mind spending that (since we are talking about me getting my life back), but I want to understand the risks I am taking and more importantly, keep my expectations realistic. I had the following key questions:

1. What are the chances of failure with such an operation? In other words, is there a possibility that the transplanted hair in my case will not grow at all and the entire transplant would be a failure?

2. I have attached pictures of my scalp showing the current level of baldness. I was wondering what kind of coverage 1650 grafts (~5000 hairs) would give me? Would it cover all my bald spots? Would it partially restore a natural hairline?

3. How long do the scars show for and would it show in my case where I think I may have sufficient hair to cover the scars? This is so I understand how long I would need to be off for (from work).