+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: My story

Default My story

Hi guys,

So after discovering this forum about 3 months ago, and reading it somewhat avidly since then, i've decided that it's time to actually tell my story, so I can have some people to talk to about my hair-loss.

I am 28 year old, and have been suffering from hair loss since the age of about 16 years old. I grew up with my hair being my crowing glory, thick curly hair that my Grandma would always say is "wasted on a boy". Unfortunately, one moment that I was on the way to school at 16 years old, I gelled my hair quite dramatically (as I always did) and saw right through to my scalp in the mirror in some harsh lighting. And that's when my obsession began.

Now before I continue, I have to admit that I am very fortunate. My hairloss, which is frontal thinning, with some mild temple receding, has been very slow. Given i've been losing it since I am 16 years old, to be a thinning NW2 ish now, without any medication or real attempt to treat it, I know I am lucky. My genetics are probably in my favour - I have 3 brothers, all with thick full heads of hair, and all the male relatives on my mothers side (including my grandfather) have full thick heads of hair - literally minimal loss. And my father is an NW3 at most. As to why I seem to be the only one who is suffering out of my brothers, you'll have to ask the milkman I guess.

For 12 years however, I am not sure if I can recall a single day passing where I did not double check my hair and wonder where it was going. For the first few years I was in absolute denial ("this can't happen to me", "no, it's always been thin there, yes, that's right, I was born this way), but through my 20's I only need to look at photos of myself years ago to see how it has slowly but surely progressed.