(CB-03-01 Vehicle Research) PhD Student in Chemistry - BaldTruthTalk.com
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 77 1 2 3 11 51 ... LastLast

Default (CB-03-01 Vehicle Research) PhD Student in Chemistry

A little bit about me. I am a PhD student at a leading institution in the world. I live in the UK and have an undergraduate degree as well as a Masters in Chemistry. I am now doing a PhD also related to Chemistry. I will not disclose the institution or my thesis as I prefer to remain anonymous (as other PhD candidates know, a thesis is unique to every person).

I have been a hair loss sufferer since I was 18 years old. I am now in my mid twenties and I am a norwood 2 with medium diffuse thinning. This god forsaken disease has taken over my life and I have been lurking on hair loss forums for years and years every single night. I am absolutely disgusted that in the last 50 years there has been no advancements to this field and it is an absolute outrage that the best treatment in 2013 is an internal 5-AR inhibitor with the side effects that it entails.

I refuse to take Finasteride and at the moment I am only using Nizoral 2% which is simply not enough. I also have personal reasons not to take Minoxidil.
    After lurking for so long I am firmly in Hellousers camp. The research world simply does not take male hair loss seriously and as a PhD student I have searched the databases for journals pertaining to this field and it is a miniscule fraction. I firmly believe that were this disease to affect women that a cure would have been discovered by now. The hair loss research companies out there are simply taking the P and I am furious and disgusted at their snail pace research and the unwillingness for the research world to unite efforts to find a solution for an inflicton which affects the percentage of the male population that it does.