+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default 20 year old considering small HT

Hi guys,

I'm looking for some opinions on my current hair loss situation…

I'm 20 years old and have been receding for around 2 years now. I’ve always had a high hairline which makes matters it even worse when it starts getting higher! I started Propecia around 1 1/2 years ago which I was prescribed from my GP. I was taking 0.5mg daily for the first year to reduce the chance of any unwanted side effects but I later increased the dosage to 1mg daily as I was still slowly but surely receding.

I’ve been researching this forum and other forums like this for a few years now and I’ve come to the conclusion that I would like to go ahead with a small HT when I’m 21 (4 months away). I’ve chosen to travel to Belgium as it seems to be the HT capital with highly recommended surgeons, unlike here in the UK.

I had an online consultation with Dr Jean Devroye and he advised that I would need around 1200-1500 grafts by FUE to cover the temples but he would need to examine me in person for a more precise diagnostic. I then had an online consultation with Dr Feriduni and he recommended 800 grafts by FUE to reconstruct the temple areas.

I’m swaying towards Dr Feriduni as I feel 1200-1500 grafts is a bit much as I’m currently a Norwood II. I’m well aware a HT will not stop future hair loss so I would like to keep as much donor hair as possible for future HTs, if need be. I’ve done quite a bit of research on Dr Feriduni and I’m yet to find anyone that has a bad word to say about him or the work he carries out. He also has a few cases of younger patients that he has done FUE on and they all look amazing.

Do you guys agree that 800 grafts is a more realistic estimate as I’m more than likely going to require more HT’s to catch up with my hair loss? Or should I still consider Dr Devroye?

Any recommendations and success stories on either surgeons will be much appreciated!

Thanks