+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Red face 20 year old: how to maintain?

I am 20 years old & I atleast want to maintain my hair ! but like I said in other post, I dont wanna get on Finasteride because of the side effects.. I have about 90 percent of my hair..
    My question is will Minoxidil or spiro or nizoral atleast maintain my hair so I can keep what I have ?

Quote Originally Posted by Kenkieth16 View Post
    I am 20 years old & I atleast want to maintain my hair ! but like I said in other post, I dont wanna get on Finasteride because of the side effects.. I have about 90 percent of my hair..
    My question is will Minoxidil or spiro or nizoral atleast maintain my hair so I can keep what I have ?
    I've been using minoxidil since I was 19 years old (2½ years ago). It has slowed down my hair loss for sure but didn't stop it. I bought a ketokonazole schampoo from the local pharmacy about a year ago and have been using it since then.

The hair loss was pretty slow the first year with minoxidil but have accelerated the last year. I never had the courage to start with fin because of the sides but I sure do regret it today that I didn't start with it during that time my hair loss wasn't that severe.

Start with minoxidil and nizoral, it might work better for you.

They will certainly help but you will continue to lose hair. You are gonna need some form of DHT blocker (ie:Fin, RU, etc.) to really combat your hair loss. You could try some Saw Palmetto and see how you respond to that which is said to be a very weak DHT inhibitor.

I've been on Fin for six weeks and have had no side effects. You can always stop taking it if there are any sides. I wish I'd looked into it when I was 20, I'd have much more hair left now.

Quote Originally Posted by StuckInARut View Post